On the occasion of the tercentenary of Louis XIV’s death, William Christie and Clément Hervieu Léger created a striking and farcical ballet-comedy: Monsieur de Pourceaugnac. Created by Molière’s company “for the King’s entertainment” on 6th October 1669 in Chambord, this play in three acts revisits some of Molière’s classical themes: marriage, money, illness.

Arrived from Limoges to marry young Julie, Pourceaugnac immediately becomes the victim of Sbrigani and Nérine, two schemers paid by the belle’s lover to prevent this pre-arranged marriage from taking place. Falling in turns prey to doctors, an apothecary, a woman from Picardie and another from Languedoc, Swiss guards, lawyers, an exempt, two archers, the unfortunate Pourceaugnac, as confused by the streets of Paris as by the state of his mind, finally has to flee the city disguised as a woman. 

Modeled as a simple comedy designed along Italian lines (Policinella pazzo per forza and Pulcinello burlato) with music and dance added, Monsieur de Pourceaugnac is undoubtedly one of Molière’s darkest and most cruel plays: an implacable descent into hell in three acts, leading Pourceaugnac to lose all notion of who he is. The feeling of inescapability of Pourceaugnac’s both tragic and grotesque end, contrasting with Eraste’s and Julie’s felicitous wedding, is considerably reinforced by the place Molière and Lully give to music. 

Unlike in other comedy-ballets, music in Monsieur de Pourceaugnac is not just an ornament; it is fully integrated into the play’s dramaturgy. The sung parts must be considered as scenes in themselves and not as mere “interludes” that could be omitted. Masked dancers whirl in carnival-like sarabandes until they lose their mind. For William Christie and Clément Hervieu-Léger, it is the interweaving of music and theatre that makes this work exceptionally interesting. Opera, then in its first days, would little by little place music before theatre, but here, Molière and Lully succeed in creating music from theatre. 

 

PROGRAMME

Jean-Baptiste Lully (1632-1687)
Molière (1622-1673)

Monsieur de Pourceaugnac

Comedy-Ballet in 3 acts by Molière. Music by Jean-Baptiste Lully
First performed at Château de Chambord on 6th October 1669

 

casting

  • Clément Hervieu-Léger Director
  • William Christie Musical director and musical design
     
  • Aurélie Maestre Sets
  • Caroline de Vivaise Costumes
  • Bertrand Couderc Lights
  • Jean-Luc Ristord  Sound
  • Bruno Bouché Choreography
  • David Carvalho Nunes Makeup and hair
  • Paolo Zanzu Music assistant
  • Clémence Boué and Aurélie Maestre Assistant directors

    With

  • Erwin Aros 2nd musician, the Egyptian man, counter-tenor
  • Clémence Boué Nérine
  • Cyril Costanzo apothicary, lawyer, archer, bass
  • Claire Debono  the Egyptian woman, soprano
  • Stéphane Facco doctor, Lucette, Swiss guard
  • Matthieu Lécroart 1st musician, doctor, lawyer, exempt, bass-baritone
  • Juliette Léger Julie
  • Gilles Privat Monsieur de Pourceaugnac
  • Guillaume Ravoire Eraste, Swiss guard
  • Daniel San Pedro Sbrigani
  • Alain Trétout Oronte
     
  • And the Arts Florissants Musicians
  • William Christie Director and clavecin

 

practical information

Royal Opera

Saturday 22nd April 2017 – 7pm

Sunday 23rd April 2017 – 3pm

More information    Book

Pour le tricentenaire Louis XIV, William Christie et Clément Hervieu-Léger ont monté une comédie-ballet percutante et drolatique : Monsieur de Pourceaugnac. Créée par la troupe de Molière “pour le divertissement du Roi” le 6 octobre 1669 à Chambord, cette pièce en trois actes reprend quelques-uns des grands thèmes moliéresques : le mariage, l’argent, la maladie.

Arrivé de Limoges pour épouser la jeune Julie, Pourceaugnac est aussitôt la proie de Sbrigani et Nérine, gens d’intrigue payés par l’amant de la belle pour empêcher ce mariage arrangé. Livré tour à tour à des médecins, un apothicaire, une femme picarde, une autre languedocienne, des gardes suisses, des avocats, un exempt, deux archers, le provincial, perdu dans les rues de la capitale comme dans sa propre tête, n’aura finalement pas d’autre solution que de fuir Paris travesti en femme.

Sous la forme d’une simple comédie, inspirée de canevas italiens (Policinella pazzo per forza et Pulcinello burlato) et agrémentée de musique et de danse, Monsieur de Pourceaugnac est sans doute l’une des pièces les plus sombres et les plus cruelles que Molière ait écrites : trois actes d’une implacable descente aux enfers qui conduisent Pourceaugnac à ne plus savoir lui-même qui il est. Cette impression d’inéluctabilité de la fin à la fois tragique et grotesque du personnage de Pourceaugnac, que vient contrebalancer l’heureux mariage d’Eraste et de Julie, est considérablement accentuée par la place que Molière et Lully donnent ici à la musique.

Contrairement à d’autres comédies-ballets, la musique ne joue pas, dans Monsieur de Pourceaugnac, un simple rôle d’ornement, mais fait intrinsèquement partie de la dramaturgie de la pièce. Il faut ainsi considérer les moments chantés comme des scènes à part entière et non comme de simples “intermèdes” dont nous pourrions faire l’économie. On songe à ces sarabandes carnavalesques qui grisent les danseurs masqués d’un jour jusqu’à la folie. C’est cette imbrication entre la musique et le théâtre qui fait, pour William Christie et Clément Hervieu-Léger, l’intérêt singulier de cette œuvre. Tandis que l’opéra naissant va peu à peu faire primer la musique sur le théâtre, Molière et Lully réussissent dans cette œuvre cette incroyable gageure : faire de la musique du théâtre.

 

Programme

Jean-Baptiste Lully (1632-1687)
Molière (1622-1673)

Monsieur de Pourceaugnac

Comédie-Ballet de Molière en 3 actes. Musique de Jean-Baptiste Lully.
Créée au Château de Chambord le 6 Octobre 1669.

 

Distribution

  • Erwin Aros 2nd musicien, l’égyptien, haute-contre
  • Clémence Boué Nérine
  • Cyril Costanzo apothicaire, avocat, archer, basse
  • Claire Debono  l’égyptienne, soprano
  • Stéphane Facco médecin, Lucette, suisse
  • Matthieu Lécroart 1er musicien, médecin, avocat, exempt, baryton-basse
  • Juliette Léger Julie
  • Gilles Privat Monsieur de Pourceaugnac
  • Guillaume Ravoire Eraste, suisse
  • Daniel San Pedro Sbrigani
  • Alain Trétout Oronte
     
  • Les Musiciens des Arts Florissants
  • William Christie Direction et clavecin
     
  • Paolo Zanzu Assistant musical
     
  • Clément Hervieu-Léger Mise en scène
  • Clémence Boué et Aurélie Maestre Assistantes à la mise en scène
  • Aurélie Maestre Décors
  • Caroline de Vivaise Costumes
  • Bertrand Couderc Lumières
  • Jean-Luc Ristord Son
  • Bruno Bouché Chorégraphie
  • David Carvalho Nunes Maquillages/coiffures

 

Informations Pratiques

Opéra Royal

Samedi 22 avril 2017 - 19h    

Dimanche 23 avril 2017 – 15h 

 

Plus d'informations    Réserver