Cameron Jamie

Enceladus Grove

Spine Station

Cameron Jamie installs long ceramic sculptures surrounding the scene of the fall of the giant who dared to confront Jupiter, in the Enceladus Grove. Between organic and spiritual, or between the ancient and the present day’s mythologies, these creatures occupy an in-between world, from which emanates a cathartic energy.

Presentation of the artist’s work by the curator of the exhibition

0:00

Spine Station

© EPV / Thomas Garnier

Enceladus Grove

The Enceladus Grove was designed by André Le Nôtre and then created from 1675 to 1677. The grove is named after the central ornament of its circular pool, the monumental figure of one of the most powerful Giants, Enceladus. Punished for having dared to challenge and to attack the Olympus’ gods, Enceladus, son of Ouranos, is half-buried under the lava and the rocks he himself stacked aiming to reach the sky.

How to get to the grove ?

About the work

The Enceladus Grove is the scene of the fall of the giant who dared to confront Jupiter. When Enceladus is defeated, a royal curse is bestowed upon him for all eternity. His furore and scream are charged with dramatic tension that Cameron Jamie transforms into cathartic energy. His long ceramic sculptures are like totems that accentuate the conflictual relationship between nature, human, and gods. Between organic and spiritual, or between the ancient and the present day’s mythologies, these creatures occupy an in-between world, from which emanates an energy that provokes an emotional enchantment.

About the artist

Born in 1969 in Los Angeles, USA, Cameron Jamie lives and works in Paris, France.

Cameron Jamie questions how strength, which shaped ancient legends and continues to structure our imagination today, manifests itself. His practice spans various media including video, drawing, and sculpture. Jamie’s films are a cross between documentary and experimental filmmaking, and focus on popular rituals. Ritual is a central theme in the artist’s work, including as part of the creative process. His sculptures, for example, arise from a gesture that closely resembles incantation. From this gesture, spontaneous and intuitive in equal parts, faces are inevitably born; it is as if creation, the work of art, were forever haunted by archaic energies from time immemorial, and had lost nothing of its power to enchant even today.

The artist website

Come and wander around the groves of Versailles

#VoyagedHiver

Practical information

Cameron Jamie

Bosquet de l’Encelade

Spine Station

Dans le bosquet de l’Encelade, autour du Titan à l’agonie, Cameron Jamie a implanté des sculptures de céramique, qui prennent leur inspiration dans les incantations rituelles populaires. La spontanéité du geste de Jamie étonne, et permet la libération de l’énergie archaïque des légendes anciennes et des traditions qui en découlent.

Présentation de l'œuvre par un commissaire de l'exposition

0:00

Spine Station

© EPV / Thomas Garnier

Bosquet de l’Encelade

Le bosquet de l'Encelade est dessiné par Le Nôtre puis réalisé de 1675 à 1677. Il tient son nom de l'ornement central de son bassin circulaire, la figure monumentale du plus puissant des Géants, Encelade. Puni d'avoir osé défier et attaquer les dieux de l'Olympe, Encelade, fils d'Ouranos, est à demi enseveli sous la lave et les rochers qu'il a entassés pour parvenir jusqu'au ciel.

Comment se rendre à ce bosquet ?

À propos de l'œuvre

Le bosquet de l’Encelade met en scène la chute d’un titan qui s’était mesuré à Jupiter. Vaincu, Encelade reçoit en retour une éternelle et royale malédiction. Sa fureur et son cri sont chargés d’une tension dramatique, que Cameron Jamie détourne en énergie cathartique. Ses longues sculptures de céramique sont tels des totems accentuant le rapport conflictuel entre la nature, les hommes et les dieux. Entre l’organique et le spirituel ou entre les mythes antiques et ceux d’aujourd’hui, ces êtres occupent un monde à la croisée de tous les mondes. L’énergie qui en émane provoque chez le spectateur un effet d’envoûtement.

À propos de l'artiste

Né en 1969 à Los Angeles aux États-Unis, Cameron Jamie vit et travaille à Paris en France.

Cameron Jamie s’interroge sur la manière dont se manifeste la force rémanente avec laquelle les légendes anciennes continuent de structurer notre imaginaire. Sa pratique est partagée entre plusieurs médiums, la vidéo, le dessin et la sculpture. Ses films mêlent le documentaire au cinéma expérimental et portent sur des rituels populaires. Le rituel est un élément central y compris dans son processus de création. Ses sculptures, par exemple, sont issues d’un geste proche de l’incantation. Ce geste, aussi intuitif et spontané soit-il, ne peut s’empêcher de donner naissance à des visages ; comme si la création, l’œuvre d’art, était toujours hantée par des énergies archaïques immémoriales et n’avait encore aujourd’hui rien perdu de son pouvoir d’ensorcellement.

Voir son site

Venez déambuler au travers des bosquets

#VoyagedHiver

Informations pratiques